THE OSCHOLARS Library was created to republish articles and essays from out-of-print collections and from journals to which perhaps only those with access to a university or national library can find. This is part of our task of ‘rescuing’ articles and essays that to-day are not generally accessible.  Even if in certain cases these have been superseded by or incorporated into later studies, they have a value in charting the development of what is now called the ‘Wilde industry’.  While doubting the value of the term, we can at least pay tribute to our predecessors’ industriousness.

The articles were originally published on THE OSCHOLARS’ former website and are reproduced with the author’s kind permission, where possible. They remain in the author’s copyright or that of the author’s estate when copyright is still running.  Any infringement of copyright by THE OSCHOLARS is unwitting and if our attention is drawn to it, will be corrected.

Date and place of original publication are given in each case, with some biographical information about the author. In some instances, the author has very kindly made alterations, corrections or additions. 

This page was redesigned in October 2010, when the number of articles in place reached one hundred.  New articles were added regularly until 2012; and were resumed in July 2014.  In August 2017 work began on transferring all articles to this present site, which task will take several months.

Authors now represented here (August 2017): Jeremy Barris, Patricia Flanagan Behrendt, Annie Bisang, Leon Botstein, Gyles Brandreth, Edmund Burke, Seweryn Chomet, Peter Cogman, Robert Fraser, Elana Gomel, C. Robert Holloway, Rainer Kohlmayer, Joseph Loewenstein, Carey Mazer, Jonathan Rose

For the Table of Contents with additional explanation, please click go-button.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s